X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie TS Suggestions

I am new to woodworking in the essence of a home workshop. I have worked with a lot of equipment, but I am finally in a position to build a small workshop in my garage.

My question is I am looking for a table saw for the following projects, small cabinets, a deck, and to rip plywood to finish the interior of my garage; i.e. T-111.

The width can not exceed 30", I am looking at the Ridgid TS3650; Jet 708100 or the Grizzly GO444.

All advice is appreciated and thank you in advance.

Re: Newbie TS Suggestions

I'm a newbie myself, so take my comment for what it's worth. I'm in a similar situation, in that I've recently started building my first shop. After doing extensive research, I went with the Ridgid ts3650. The overall value of the saw (quality, warrantee, price, features, etc.) make it tough to beat. I really can't compare to many other saws, but I've been using it for a few months now and couldn't be happier; I don't have a single complaint.

Reading through these forums, you'll find that most people seem to be extremely satisfied with the 3650. There's a sticky post in the Tips section that is extremely useful before you assemble the saw, if you choose to purchase the Ridgid.

Just my 2 cents worth, but I hope it helps. Good luck getting your new shop set up.

Comment

The TS3650 has a lot to offer, for sure. I love the smooth cuts and the large flat surface. The fence is really a bonus on it. One of the best fences on a "contractor's" saw that I've ever seen. It doesn't rack, it's easy to move, it's accurate, and it goes on and off the saw easy enough. The splitter/safety guard is another plus I've come to love. When doing dado's, I can take it off and set it aside. Then when I'm doing a through cut, I just put it back on and the alignment is 100%. Due to that one factor, I use the safety guard EVERY time I can!!