X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying Gold Leaf

I have to apply gold leaf to some very unorthodox table legs. I have never used gold leaf before and I am wondering how steep the learning curve is.

Re: Applying Gold Leaf

Steep.
    First, sand your piece to final stages.
    Applying gold leaf means learning the art of gesso. First, apply the glue, let it tack, then carefully apply the leaf bit by bit with a soft-bristle brush. Let the leaf float onto the gesso/glue. Don't worry about the large bits that go flying away. Let your natural hair brush pick up the sheet and apply it. Don't touch the sheet with your hands. A very soft, open-bristle brush works best. You really just want the brush to pickup the gold leaf sheet, and act as a transport medium between the book of sheets and your project. Keep breezes to an absolute 0, and don't get distracted.