Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dado Blade Question

Greetings!

Can someone please tell me what the 4 round plates are in front of the Dado Blades as found at:
    http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=40745

I'm very new to this and don't quite understand their purpose...if I had to guess I would say they are spacers or shims but I am uncertain.

I am not into serious woodworking at this point but would like to work with a Dado Blade. By using an inexpensive blade set such as this, am I shooting myself in the foot? (E.g., an adjustable Craftsman is nearly $100.00). Some, I see, are even far more expensive.

Or, any recommendations? I.e., would I do better with an adjustable such as the Craftsman?

Thank you!

[ 04-06-2004, 10:42 PM: Message edited by: lgldsr ]

Yes, they are shims to "fine tune" the width of the dado. For $19.95 I would say give it a try. I don't know what Craftsman adjustable you are referring to, but remember whatever you get has to fit on a 1 1/8" arbor.
    I would recommend getting a couple of woodworking books from the library such as "Table Saw Magic" etc.
    Lorax
    "Did you put the yellow key in the switch?" TOD 01/09/06

Comment

As you have pointed out the disc are shims. To adjust the with of the dado. Here is a link on one comparison of a Harbor freight set and the Forrest set.

It feels at times that there are a billion post on rec.woodworking about this set.

The Freud SD508 (which I have) is a nice set and sells for about $160. The various Freud sets get good reviews.

Comment