X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Table Vs. Radial

I am an intermediate level woodworker with a few tools like a compound miter saw and a router table. I am currently making small projects and finding that, although I have what I need to complete the job, it would be much easier if I had a saw for making long straight cuts. I would also like to move up to larger projects like tables but with out that ability I don't think it wise to waste the wood. The question is, table saw or radial arm saw. I have watched both in use and even had a turn on a few but I don't know which to buy. I have limited shop space and like the multiple uses of the RAS but I don't want to get stuck with a tool that won't rip a straight edge.

Txrex, You have just entered the realm of personal opinion. I am not an expert on the matter but what I can tell you is that I have both. I've had my table saw for several years but my RAS - only a few months.

TS- Totally depends on which one you own or intend to get. I have a BT3000 Ryobi (Sorry Jake)which I got from home depot for about $250 many years ago and it does a fair job. Major draw back to my saw is it's very difficult to cut sheet goods due to it's small size and lack of power. It's easy to move about the shop.

RAS-Easier to cut wider rips (limited on BT). I still have to have external supports to cut full sheets of plywood but it works a lot better than my TS. I love the extra cross cut capability over my CMS too.
    down side is it's kinda big for a small shop but to me it was worth it.

One option to this is to have Lowes or who ever you buy your ply from to rip it for you to a more managable size and then clean it up once you get home this service is normally free.

So which one to get, well I love both of my saws and don't regret getting either of them. At this point I like the RAS better but If I had a better TS I might think differently.