X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Router info

I am a novice at a lot of wood working techniques. I am looking for cd's or mags. that would help me to learn the potential and how too's. A picture is worth a million words to this nut.

Looking thru some info; the choice of tables, fences, lifts and types of bits is overwelming.

you can post info here are email me at Tommy6534@earthlink.net Thanks again for any help.

If your router is new and came with a manual, read it, then try here for a start:
    http://www.routerforums.com/

This is the Rosendahl's site (the PBS "Router Workshop" program). I'd suggest you buy a book and read up, I don't have any specific suggestions on that. First and foremost: read and heed all safety advice.

Another good woodworking site I frequent is www.bt3central.com. It's devoted to the Ryobi table saw, but there's a "Getting Started" forum that's a good place to ask newbie questions.

Beyond that, I find I learn best by doing, watching shows like router workshop, and reading tips. But really, first learn the do's and dont's of routers, starting with proper feed direction, speeds and feed rates, how deep/wide to cut in a single pass, bit changing, which bits are safe for handheld and which (such as raised panel) should be used in a table only etc. Buy only quality bits. Store brand stuff from places like WoodCraft (they have a $5 bit sale on right now, good way to get some basic bits cheap), Lee Valley, or MLCSWoodworking.com are OK, you don't have to go with the pricey name brands like WhiteSide or Freud, but don't be tempted to save money buying no-name bits off of Ebay or the like. They're spinning at up to 25,000 RPM, so don't take any chances. Also, if you're router handles them, buy only 1/2" shanks wherever possible, much stronger and flex less than 1/4", and usually the same price.

Comment