Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tool Issue: Which is best: Dado vs Router...?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tool Issue: Which is best: Dado vs Router...?

Gentlemen...which is best in the long run? Dado blade or Router?

We are making investments in tools...upgrading...trying to choose the correct path or paths. I would like to made informed and educated decisions.

Is a good router and router table better than a dado set (in the long run)?

Any pros and cons?

We appreciate the help and guidance from the experienced people on this forum.

(I am a welder by trade making the transition to woodworker...trying to learn all I can...buy the right equipment.)

Re: Tool Issue: Which is best: Dado vs Router...?

Truth is you will probably need both at some point. A router can substitute a dado blade for most purposes but a dado blade can't substitute a router. Routers are one of the woodworkers most versatile tools and its a good idea to have one if you plan to get into it seriously.

Comment

Ok...thanks for the above...great point.

Maybe I should ask the same question again but from a different point of view.

If a router can do everything, then why would you have a dado?

(I hope that makes sense and is a good question.)

Comment

With the use of shims, a dado set can make more precise dado width cuts than a router can. Although it best done in gradual steps with both tools, deeper dado's can usually be cut with less passes using a dado set than with a router.

As Velosapien stated, both have their place in the shop and personally, I wouldn't be without either. Generally speaking though, I'd buy a router first followed by the dado set as money or need dictates.
        Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment