X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dado Sets And The TS 3650-Again

OK, so I'm about to order an 8" dado set for my TS 3650, and I'm checking all the usual sales sites and forums, trying to find the best performance/price combination.

So far, I'm drooling over the Forrest Dado King DKO8244, the Infinity Dadonator, and the Ridge Carbide Dado Master sets-great reviews on all of them, but a bit pricey for me at this time.

Looking further, the Freud SD508 has great reviews-except for several people who have had problems using the full width specifically on a TS-3650; on Amazon, two reviewers said they couldn't use more than .5-.625 dado widths-and I need .75 (a skosh less, usually) primarily.

Nice price there, though.

The DeWalt DW 7670 has decent reviews; and it's a LOT cheaper than the others-made in China, I think; the low price makes me a little nervous-I have had some very bad experiences with the quality-or lack thereof-of Chinese steel in my former day job, as a machinist/die maker. And who knows how good their carbide quality is?

Really nice price, though.

So, I'm kinda leaning towards the Freud SD508-but can anyone tell me, with a fair amount of certainty, that I will be able to use the full dado width available on my TS 3650? Or is there really a problem? Anyone actually using the Freud?

Or is there a better suggestion? Or should I bite the bullet and go for one of the pricier brands?

BTW, I bought my TS 3650 in May; I think it is not only great value for the money, but-just great.

Thanks in advance; I've been enjoying reading and lurking at this forum a lot.

Re: Dado Sets And The TS 3650-Again