X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Finish to use?

OK, I've been a lurker here for months...but thanks to everyone for the tips--for every person who posts a "thanks for the tip!" here, there are dozens that read it and appreciate it as well.

I've been dabbling in woodworking for about 10 years now, and only recently started building from lumber as opposed to kits. Thanks to all your recommendations, I bought a TS3650 in April...then an R2930 dual-base router in April...then an R27201 Belt Sander in June. (my table saw just changed from "3 years" warranty to lifetime--woohoo!).

Over the past year, I have built three large projects--a mate's bed for my son (red oak), a bookcase (poplar), and just recently an aquarium stand (red oak).

I like red oak.

For pictures of these projects, go here:

Bed
    Bookcase
    Bookcase
    Aquarium stand

Now, the question. I have read everything I can about finishes--tung oil, shellac, danish oil, boiled linseed and wax, polyurethane, etc etc. I've tried quite a few over the past 10 years, but being completely honest, the best I've found is Minwax Wiping Poly. In my experience, this is a darn-near foolproof finish; you can't put on too much, you can't put on too little, no brush strokes, no runs, and great protection. Cleanup is a snap--I just turn my latex glove inside out with the rag inside it, throw it away, and I'm done.

All of the projects I've done over the past year have been with this.

So, my question--am I just naive? Is there something better, easier, or faster? Why would I NOT want to use wiping poly?

Oh, BTW -- I have the designs, cutting diagrams, etc for these three projects in Visio...if anyone wants them, just let me know, I'll be glad to share!

Thanks--

Dave Hightower
    Last edited by Dave_Hightower; 09-09-2007, 10:34 PM.

Re: Best Finish to use?

Dave-