Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Raised Panel doors with planer

Hi,

I'm new to fine woodworking (been doing mostly home reno work) and I'm slowly building my shop and equipment.

My next project is to make some raised panel doors for my kitchen reno. I have TS3650, router + table, drill press, biscuit jointer and ROS.

So I'm wondering if I need a thickness planer for making the panels. I'll be using red oak and the wood will be the pre-finished stuff from Home Depot.

Thanks!!

Re: Raised Panel doors with planer

Hi Krazy Knuck! Welcome to the forums.

Unfortunately, I don't see any real need for a thickness planer when using the HD pre-finished wood. Since it's the pre-finished type, using a planer on it will basically remove all finish...kind of not worth buying the wood at that point!

I would recommend you find a new source for the wood, even rough lumber red oak planks. That way, you'll have to get the thickness planer, and you can learn about staining and finishing too!!
    I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment

Originally posted by VASandy View Post
      I would recommend you find a new source for the wood, even rough lumber red oak planks. That way, you'll have to get the thickness planer, and you can learn about staining and finishing too!!
      I love VASandy's thought process! Pulling a justification out of thin air is a form of art. My philosiphy is if I don't really need it, I need to try harder to find a reason to need it.
      ‎"I've never let my schooling interfere with my education" -Mark Twain

Comment

Thanks all for the input...what other uses would a thickness planer come in handy for?.....or would a band saw be a better addition next?

Krazy

Comment