Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6" dado on 10" saw?

I'm new to wood working so I'm going through a few growing pains

I inherited most of my shop. Included in the "stuff" were two sets of Dado blades. One is 8" and the other is 6". In every situation I've seen, the 8" dado is the one I'd use on a 10" table saw. Should I ever use the 6" dado? Should I ever not use it?

(It just occurred to me that I never did check to see if the 6" would fit on the saw, so this may be a really dumb question)

Re: 6" dado on 10" saw?

As long as the 6" dado can fit the arbor of your saw then you should have no problem. Take a look at the last few posts of the attached thread they bring up a nice point of using the 6" rather than the 8".

http://www.ridgidforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12836

Comment

I'm not sure how they came up with faster cuts with a 6 inch dado in the other thread. Physics would argue against that. The teeth on a smaller diameter blade will travel less distance if the RPM remains the same. Therefore they travel slower.

You can use a 6 inch dado on a 10 inch saw no problem. With equal quality dados the only advantage would be less strain on the motor.

Comment

Expanding a little on the less strain on the motor point........ Since you didn't mention what model of table saw you have, the size of dado set you use could make a big difference. If you have a cabinet saw with a motor in the 3HP and up category you can use either a 6" or 8" set with no worries. For a 2HP or 1½HP powered contractor styled saw an 8" set will work but a 6" set would be a better choice IMO. I have and use both on my contractor saw and find the 6" spins much easier at start up. If you have a direct drive benchtop saw then I'd suggest you only use a 6" set.
        Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment