Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Freud 206 Dado Question

Hi Guys,

Okay, my first question for the forum. Bare with me, as I am a still novice.

I just got my Freud SD206 in the mail and am getting ready to cut dados for todays undersized 3/4 ply. There weren't any instructions that came with the set other than the little paper cover on the front. It says to use two shims along with two blades and three chippers. But the shims aren't marked so do I how do I know which ones to use? I guess I could bust out my calipers and measure, but is there an easier way?

Re: Freud 206 Dado Question

While I can't speak for sure on the SD206 as I own the SD208, but can say that the shims that came with my 208 are all the same.
    Still enjoying all 10 fingers!

Comment

My SD208 has 6 shims, all different sizes. Range from .008 to .019. I measured them with a micrometer and marked the thickness on them with a felt tipped pen.

Go
      Practicing at practical wood working

Comment

Thanks Guys,

I figured measuring was in order, but I wasn't sure. I'll get my calipers out.

Comment

Regardless of what they measure, since the plywood is undersized, you will have to make test cuts and adjust the amount of shims until you get a good fit.

Comment

Interesting that WWSmith's shims are all the same size. I just checked my 208 and I have eight shims, all different sizes. I bought mine at Sears a few years ago maybe it was packaged according to a Sears spec.
            Tom

Comment

I just dug out my trusty HF digital caliper and SD206 set and the shims that came with my set are as follows;

a. One (1) 0.020" thick shim
              b. One (1) 0.012" thick shim
              c. One (1) 0.008" thick shim
              d. Five (5) 0.004" thick shim
              Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment