X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS3650, fence not square vertically

I've had my table saw over a year. When recently trying to cut lumber on edge, I found the fence isn't square to the table, it leans to the right. I'm a newbie and just never thought to check. I don't believe there is an adjustment for this. It's enough off that I can't get an acceptable cut on a 2 x 4 on edge.

Is there a way to correct this? I wondered if you could shim under the right hand bolts on the front of the fence? Seems like the lock on the opposite end might skew it though. Any suggestions?

TerriS

Re: TS3650, fence not square vertically

I would start by making sure the rails are parallel to the table surface...

Check that first and see if it helps.
    Cheers! - Jim
    -------------
    All truth passes through three stages: First it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident. - Schopenhauer

Comment

Re: TS3650, fence not square vertically

Is the square you are using to check your fence accurate? Many are not.
      The fence could be square but the blade is not vertical. I do a lot of resawing, and if the cut is off, it is usually the the blade is not truly vertical, or the wood is not flat and the edge square to the surface against the fence. A 2x4 from the store is not flat and may not be square. If you are running a stock 2x4 against the fence, and flip it and the cuts do not line up, the edges probably were not square to start with, and the faces are not flat.