X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Planer Suggestions

Hey Guys ~ I'm new to this forum. Looks like a great place to hang out!

I'd like to ask anyone who has a Ridgid Planer (13") what they think of it. I've been wanting a planer for years but never been able to justify the cost, since it's just for hobby use. I think I'm finally ready to spend the bucks. I work in the construction field, and there's nothing I hate more than junk tools. If I'm going to spend hundreds of hard-earned dollars on myself (denying my wife & kid those dollars) I want the tool to function correctly.

So,..there............Any suggestions?

Fitz

Fitz

I’ve had mine for 8 months and I am totally satisfied with it. I’ve used it on white and red oak, mahogany, walnut, cherry and pine and it has provided good results with minimal snipe. This is the only planner that I’ve ever used, so I am in no way qualified to state that it is superior to other brands, but if I were to purchase another one today it would be the Ridgid.

Woodslayer

Comment

I don't own one, but have researched this up and down and every way possible.
      The TP1300 is the Hands down winner. Some will say it falls in second behind the Delta, but with the Ridgid warranty and Customer Support,you just can't do any better. I hope to buy mine tomorrow!!!
      Rob J.
      Orange, Ca.

[ 02-22-2003, 09:47 PM: Message edited by: Backyard Woodworker ]
      Just tilt your head a little and it will look straight!

Comment

I've been using the TP1300 for a couple of months, and found it performs well. Snipe occurs if you don't ensure that long material is well supported on both the infeed and outfeed sides, the same as any other planer. The dust collection hood, when conected directly to my DC, removes 98% of cuttings. Haven't found the pre-set thickness setting feature to be that useful, as I always seem to want a measurement that falls between the 8 pre-sets.