X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why Do They Think We're Stupid?

In the latest issue of Popular Woodworking, the editorial seems to be based around a rather ridiculous concept, that we're all idiots. The editor, Christopher Schwarz, compares woodworkers to motorcyclists and puts us into two categories: Those who have been in a serious accident and those who are going to be in a serious accident.

What about those of us who just know how to be careful?

Only a tiny percentage of woodworkers, or motorcyclists for that matter, are ever in serious accidents. For every woodworker who loses a finger, there are thousands more who never suffer more than a few splinters. It seems like they think we're all too damn stupid to figure out how to protect ourselves and it's an attitude that I'm getting sick and tired of. I've been doing this for more than 20 years now, my father did it for pretty close to 40 and out of the dozens of woodworkers I know, I think one of them ever really hurt himself.

Seems they're either shooting at a miniscule minority or they're trying to say something about the intelligence of their readers.

Re: Why Do They Think We're Stupid?

duhhhhh what he said........ ahhhhhhh witch way did he go george
    9/11/01, never forget.

Comment

I consider my self a safety conscious person, and have been using power tools for nearly 50 years, and still have all my fingers and toes,

actually I have hurt my self more with hand tools than ever with power tools, but I do know if it ever happens with a power tool the potential is or the damage will be greater.

I have drug hand saws a cross my hand a number of time, had black thumb disease from hammers, and also a number of slips with knives,