X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice on making cutting board

I want to make a cutting board for a friend that is getting married. I would like to make a checkedboard pattern using two or three types of wood (cherry, maple, and possibly one more) and could use some help. I am rather new to woodworking so I am having a hard time figuring out just how to go about it.

For starters I should ripcut strips of the wood and then glue cherry, maple, cherry, maple, etc (assuming using just two types of wood). Because I want a checkboard pattern I imagine I would have to start with one type of wood and then end with the other. Once the glue up is dry would then I crosscut strips to a desired thickness and then flip these strips 90 degrees to get a an end grain on top and glue up again? Hopefully you can follow that.

All the plans I have found on the internet so far are just for different stips in the cutting board and not a checkerboard pattern. Any tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Need advice on making cutting board

This is not really my expertise, but if you only want the pattern on one side,you can do an inlay. I don't have experience with inlays, but i'm sure some guys here do. I have a cutting board made from Barzilian hardwoods. My dad made them for Christmas last year,and it's holding up very nicely.
    I could post a pic if you are interested.
    Hmm..just had a thought. LOL If you do it like my dad did, you can put little feet on the bottom,so it stores nicely,and doesn't touch the countertop. This would help with an inlay on one side of the board.

Comment

Pez this link may help ->

http://thewoodwhisperer.com/?p=89

To make it "checker board" just make sure all your strips are the same width...
      That way when you flip every other one the squares will line up
      Cheers! - Jim
      -------------