X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just got TP1300, any tips?

As part of my introduction to woodworking I treated myself to a new planer. Being that I am new to this hobby I never used one before and could use any advice. I will be sure to read the manual but some real world tips and suggestions can be invaluable.

Something else I am wondering about is the need for a jointer. Other than wanting one it will be some time before I can get a decent one. For now I will be using a 40+ year old Dunlop 4 inch bench top jointer I got from my father-in-law (which belonged to his father). The Dunlop works but I have no idea how well it works. My neighbor gave me 14 boards of cherry about an inch thick ranging in widths of 4" to 14". Does wood have to be run through a jointer before the planer? Cant you run the wood through the planer, flip, and repeat until you get down to the desired thickness? Being only a 4" inch jointer seems to be a bit of handicap as I will have to rip all the boards down (assuming it has to go through the jointer first). Like I mentioned above, I am very new to this hobby and dont really know much about jointers and planer and when you have to use one and/or the other.

Re: Just got TP1300, any tips?

Never plane to much off of one face at a time. The board will begin to bow
    in the direction of the face being planed.

NEVER plane a board that is to short. It can kick throw the board back at
    you into your fingers that are pushing the board.
    Don't feed your fingers into the planer knives!
    VivicitaHome emergency breakdown services at Homeserve

Comment

Originally posted by Pez View Post
      As part of my introduction to woodworking I treated myself to a new planer. Being that I am new to this hobby I never used one before and could use any advice. I will be sure to read the manual but some real world tips and suggestions can be invaluable.