No announcement yet.

Looking at Dado blades

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking at Dado blades

While I'm in the market for a new TS, any views on a good Dado blade for my soon to be new TS? I have never used a Dado before, but from what I have read, the stacked dado seems to be better than the wobbley type. But I don't know a good brand and model. Any tips?

Re: Looking at Dado blades

Freud SD206, Freud SD208 (under $100) are both good and not overly inexpensive. The SD206 is 6" diameter which, altho it will not cut as deep as dado (max is a little over 1") it is plenty for most usage and furniture applications, and puts less strain on the saw. I have the SD208 (8" diameter) that I use on my Ridgid TS3650 with no problems, having cut 1" deep by 3/4" wide dados in white oak. Had to go slow but that is part of knowing your equipment. Either should serve you well.
    The SD500 series (about $100 more) has the advantage of a 3/32" cutter, which reduces the need for shims, especially as they downsize the stock lumber and plywood, and it has 4 tooth chippers, so it gives a smoother cut. If you are going to do a lot of hard woods (by hard, I mean higher on the Janka scale, not just a hardwood tree which is any that drops its leaves in the winter), such as white oak, pecan, hickory, rock maple, cocobola, ipe, etc, the higher tooth count on both the outside blades and the chippers on the 500 series will probably mean longer times between resharpening which will offset the initial cost.
    Some posting here have had good luck with the DeWalt dado, which also has 4 tooth chippers, but I will let them give their opinion as I have not used or seen one.