Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you make a cabinet toe-kick cut?

I have cabinet sides made of 3/4in. MDF board. I want to cut off a 3" x 4" piece from one of the corners (of each side piece) for the toe-kick. What's the best method/tool for the job? I will be doing this often for kitchen cabinet work. The cabinets will have face frames. I'm new to woodworking, spent past 20 years doing exhibit finishing. Thanx.
    Last edited by xtectonic; 12-08-2007, 02:44 PM.

Re: How do you make a cabinet toe-kick cut?

Either a sabre saw or a good hand saw will do jut fine.

Comment

The best way is to cut the toe kick at the same time as the gable on a CNC machine, since most people don't have one, other methods are using a router with a jig and a good 1/4 spiral bit, making a couple of cuts with a table saw, even with the blade fully raised you still need to use a jigsaw to finish the job, you can do a nice job, but very slow. A good bandsaw witha fence also works.
      We built most of our cabinets with seperate bases. Good luck.

Comment

Thanks, I was afraid of that. Thought I might be missing a technique, but nothing beats experience and the craftsman touch.

Comment