X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Took everyones advise, but need help

After reading everyones views and doing some thinking, I bought the 3650. Took awhile to set it up. Only problem I'm have right now is because my cement floor is now level, I have to adjust the legs up and either the wheels to the lift wont go up high enough to lift all four legs, or all the legs wont rest on the floor while it's down. I don't plan on moving it too much so not a big deal. Heres the problem, I also got the Fread combo LU84R011 (no brainer on that one) but also the Dado SD208. I have never used a dado stack before, and don't nkow how to put the peices together (what blade goes next to the other blade) for different cuts. Is there a rule just the outside blades are used and when to use the chippers. And where do the shims go inbetween? Any books or videos on this subject so I can get a better knowledge on dados?
    Gee, I spent some money today hu?

Re: Took everyones advise, but need help

Congrats on your purchase
    A dado blade can be used to cut wider slots in one pass than a regular blade can. When you stack blades to achieve the desired width align the teeth so that the added blade's teeth sit in the spaces between the teeth of the first blade, this rule applies to the chippers as well as when using only the two outside blades (minimum thickness cut). When using more than one chipper offset the teeth evenly, some people just offset each chipper 90° from the next which is fine, I like to space them evenly, for example if I have 3 chippers installed I orient them at 60° and 120° offset to the first one (close counts here).
    The shims are used in between the chippers and/or outer blades to achieve the exact with of the slot that you are cutting, for example if you are cutting dadoes for a bookshelf using plywood shelves that are not 3/4", you will likely have to add a shim to get to exactly 3/4" as well.

Comment