X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sub $500 Jointers

Going to get a 6" jointer but not sure which. Looking at the Craftsman Pro, Jet open & closed stand, Delta open stand, and Ridgid. For under $500 are these all solid machines? Any of them I should avoid? Also looking at a Delta Pro that currently has a mail in rebate to fit the budget. I am new to the jointer so some advice would be greatly appreciated.

Here are links to all the machines:

Craftsman: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...rs+%26+Shapers

Jet Open Stand: http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=17101

Jet Closed Stand: http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=17102

Delta Open Stand: http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=18289

Delta Pro: http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=18268

Re: Sub $500 Jointers

I'd scratch the Delta JT360 open stand for the sheer sake that it has an open stand, smaller motor, and lighter duty fence than the others in the same price range....as in, it offers no advantage at even money.

The Jet open stand jointer shows as the same price as the close stand, so I'd eliminate that in favor of the enclosed version.

The Delta 37-275/37-195 is a really nice machine, but note that it's rack and pinion fence sticks out the back farther than most

I'd add the Rikon if it's still on sale, and Grizzly has at least one. I've always liked that Jet... they're all capable...go with whatever floats your boat...
    Last edited by hewood; 12-19-2007, 06:17 PM.

Comment

Well, I'm biased because I own one but I think the closed stand Jet has a definite advantage over the rest because of its one piece base. This jointer is one solid unit with very little if any vibration issues. I also think that the front mounted handwheel adjustment knobs are easier to use than the side mounted lever types. The free freight and $25 merchandise rebate gift card make it even more attractive.