X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new ridgid lathe model

i am in the market for a new wood lathe. i am a beginner and would like something to help me learn as well as handle more advanced techinques when i learn them (outboard turning, fluting) so the ridgid lathe seems like a good choice for the money, but grizzly, jet, and delta make some pretty impressive machines as well for a few more buck (around $150 to $200 more) which seem to be heavier and offer more options later on down the line. if you could buy a new lathe in the $300 to $600 range which would it be and why?does ridgid plan to roll out a new cast iron bed lathe, maybe with outboard turning options and lathe duplication ability (without extensive modifications) in the near future-say within the next six to a year to compete with the other lathe brands mentioned earlier?
    Godspeed and wear those safety glasses...

If you can stretch that $600 a couple bucks more, Delta's new 46-715 iron bed lathe looks to be a killer. Capacity is 14x40, has a cast-iron head.

Don't forget to allow in your budget for tools and accessories. It is easy to spend another four, five hundred there.

Dave

Comment

I think you have to be real honest with yourself and your intentions when you buy a lathe. I bought the Ridgid thinking I would just make a few bowls and have it to turn legs for my furniture projects. It is one of the most addicting tools I have because you can make something pretty nice in a short period of time (bowls, pens, etc.).

For this type of use, the Ridgid works fine. From your post, it seems you are already looking for more (duplicating devices - implies a lot of use) to which I would reply, spend a little more money.

I don't believe this to be a major seller for Ridgid, so I would not expect to see many upgrades.

As the saying goes, if I knew now what I didn't know then, I would have bought one with variable speed as well as the options you listed.