X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Red Oak Glued-up/Gray Discoloration

Hello guys! I'm back after about a 9 month hiatus from participating here. Seems I'm a cold weather woodworker and a warm weather money maker! :-)

Anyway, I'm working on a corner cabinet out of red oak. I've glued up the face frames from clear, nice-grained red oak. Where the rails meet the stiles I've got gray bleeding through the oak on some of the seams. All the oak looked great before using pocket screws and titebond to make the connections. Now the gray appears.

I've heard this may be just be moisture seeping out from the tight joint and it will sand out. Please enlighten me as I'm sure this is a common problem - just the first time for me.

Thanks!
    Skip
    Stay well and play well.
    Skip

Re: Red Oak Glued-up/Gray Discoloration

Hi Skipsax wb

I think the tannin in the oak may be reacting with the metal in your screws...

What metal were your screws made out of?
    Cheers! - Jim
    -------------
    All truth passes through three stages: First it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident. - Schopenhauer

Comment

The screws are Kreg pocket screws (fine) per the supplies list in these plans from Wood Magazine. They didn't specifiy Kreg but the pics in the plans show a Kreg jig, like I used. Not sure what Kreg makes them out of.

Another person suggested I not use tap water to clean off the excess glue. He said the tanin reacts with tap water in red oak.

Anyone else???

One more thing: Regardless of this issue, can I reverse it, mask it, sand it out or hide it?

Thanks.
      skip
      Stay well and play well.
      Skip

Comment