T-9, how much and where?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• T-9, how much and where?

Finished building my TS3650 and have been making small boxes to learn. I just picked up some T-9 and wondered if the table top is the only place you spray it? Doesn't the trunnions get rusty too? Seems everyone talks of rust only on the table top. Granted, i'm a newbie, but doesn't all the cast iron rust or just where it's been ground flat on the top?

Thanks

Jer

Re: T-9, how much and where?

I believe the trunnion on the 3650 is actually zinc and not iron so it won't rust. Anything that is exposed iron will rust eventually. What you have to protect is mainly the table top, or any unprotected iron part that is facing up or uncovered by anything. Gravity makes moisture settle on the top surfaces which is why you'll see that even if the bottom side is completely unprotected it will barely rust. The top side will rust exponentially faster.

It doesn't take much T-9 to do the job. Spray on just enough that you can spread it around the whole surface with a rag and then wipe it off until dry. Be sure to clean the surface really well first so it's completely free of contamination. WD-40 with steel wool works like a charm. Just make sure the WD-40 is completely wiped off and evaporated before applying the T-9.

Comment

Sears $19 for T9 large spray bottle and a smaller for rust removal which worked very well on my TS3650 that I bought last night, Craigslist Seattle for $225.

Comment

woodcraft sells a 3pack of rust remover, protectant, and pitch and gum remover for $14.99.

the rust remover stinks to all hell. use in a well ventilated area.

i work with some nasty solvents on a daily basis but this stuff made me cough quite a bit..
        there is a fine line between woodworker and tool collector....

Comment