X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new guy needs tool selection help

OK guys, I need your help. I am new to woodworking and am having a blast with it. I believe I was very fortunate with early tool purchases ... a used PC Biscuit Joiner, used Delta 10" Sliding CMS and a never used Powermatic tabletop table saw. I now have some more money to invest in tools and am in a delimma. The Ridgid TS3612 has been on my wish list for several months (the TS2424 prior to that) but now that I have most of the money I think of all the other tools I could get for that same money The little Powermatic I have I really do not enjoy ... the table is so small and the fence leaves a lot to be desired. But then there is the rest of my wish list ... router, Delta 12" bench top drill press, Bosch Jig Saw, sanding station, brad nailer, etc. I keep thinking of the projects I have built so far and the ones I am likely to build and it's just hard to cross tools off the list as unnecessary So, how have you guys approached your tool buying? I could ramble on but we all have lives to live ...
    Alan
    My Shop

I love my new TS3612, which replaced a fine, functional RAS. Given the importance of a precision saw, I would consider going to the 3612, especially if your tabletop saw isn't satisfactory. Having a sliding compound miter saw to supplement the 3612 sounds wonderful.

You got my advice on a router in another post - Hitachi M12V. There are things you "need" a router for that can't readily be done with other tools, so it would be near the top of my list.