X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to hand join wood

hello everybody i am new to this great forum.i have a question i want to join to pieces of 3/16 thick boards together i dont have a jionter or any other kinds of power tools how can i make both edges of wood straight,and flat so not one bit of light shows thru the two boards when joined and held up to the light.i have planes and chisels and saws .thanks for your time
    Last edited by jargenlink; 03-06-2008, 08:38 AM. Reason: spelling error

Re: how to hand join wood

I've seen a couple people clamp a flat piece of wood perpendicular to the sole of the plane with some small C-Clamps, to kind of give them a 90 degree guide to work with. I've never tried it myself, but it might be somewhat helpful. Make sure your plane blade is sharp across the whole blade, not just the middle. You can also use your fingers as a guide, gripping the forward hand tightly on the lip of the sole.

HTH,
    Jalon

Comment

If I understand you correctly, your wood is 3/16 inch thick. If so, I would suggest clamping your plane and a piece of wood together in a vise so that the sole plate of your plane and the piece of wood form a 90 degree corner and pushing your wood through it. Kind of like a jointer only no power. It will be almost impossible to hold a plane flat on a 3/ 16 in. piece otherwise.

Comment

I don't have room for a jointer in my garage, so I've used a jack plane and low angle block plane. I agree, 3/16" is narrow and would be tough to control alone. Clamping a sacrificial board to the edges will make it easier. After a few passes, I usually check my progress with a small square. I use my finger as a guide for the jack plane, and free hand the block plane. Take your time. It works great.

Comment