X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best way to plane wood

I have about 15 boards of 4/4 cypress I need to plane to 3/4". I am trying to figure out what the best approach is:

1) Plane each piece, one at a time to 3/4" before moving on to the next board.

2) Run each board through the planer before moving on to the next adjustment.

Method 2 seems more effeicient but will that work since not all boards of excatly the same. After a couple of passes they all would be the same but not sure if that works. Using method 2 would I set the planer height equal to the thickest board?

I am new to the planer so just trying to learn the best way to use it. I also have a bunch of cherry to plane.

Re: Best way to plane wood

Method 2, it'll guarantee you end up with the same thickness on all boards.
    You'll have to start with the thickest first, and get them all to approximately the same thickness. Then feed them one immediately after the other. This will help reduce snipe (which may or may not be a problem for your planer). Also, flip each board after each path so you take material off both sides equally.

Comment

Thanks, thats kind of what I figured. I have a ridgid planer 1300.

Comment

Method #2. I've planed some massive amounts of wood before,think of doing it several days in a row type amounts.What I do when its many boards is set a pair of saw horses at each end/side of the planer then turn the planer around for the next pass.At 1 time I had built 2 rather massive 4 wheeled carts I used to move the wood around on as at the time I was planing 2x12's that started rough at between 2 1/8 and 2 3/8 thick all were 20 footers and it was several thousand bdf.
        Sam

Comment