X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wood Molding and some issues.

About a month ago I decided to repaint the interior of my home. And as one thing typically leads to another I started painting the walls, and then the trim work around the house.

I was just about finished with the whole project when I noticed something that really bugged me. After the home was built the house settled and it caused some problems in a U shaped Handrail (made with 3 peices of board all cut at some angles and put togeather to form a U shape). Where 2 of the boards connected to eachother the calking had come apart, and also one of the boards was much higher than the other.

I decided this would be the perfect time to test out my new ROS. So I pulled out the sander and began to even off the edges. Now that the two boards are evened out I've run into a new issue, yes I didn't strip the paint from the rest of the boards (3-4 layers of latex paint adds up).

I'm at the point where I figure I need to either sand or chemically strip the paint off the rest of the handrail, but I figured I'd check these forums and see if anyone had some other suggestions which wouldn't cost me alot of time.

I thought about using wood putty to even out the height diffrences however I was concerned that using putty in the area of that joint would come back and haunt me in a few months. Any other suggestions? Or should I just bite the bullet and get to sanding?

Re: Wood Molding and some issues.

The last time I sanded several coats of latex, i ended up using a 6" disk sander and 35Grit disks to get through the first few layers. Chemical stripping in the house will be a mess at best and the fumes may make it intolerable. If you can move it outside, it would be a player, but you will probably have to do it multiple times as only one coat will usually come off at a time. After rinsing off the chemicals, you will need to let it dry several days before recoating.