X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to Make This Cut?

As a very new novice, I need some help on what is probably an elementary question. What is the best way to cut out a notch in the end of a 2 x 4. That is if looking at the wide side of a 2 x 4, cut out a trough or notch so that if the end of the 2 x 4 was butted up against a flat surface, only the outside edges of the 2 x 4 end would make contact. The notch or cutout is about 2.5" wide and maybe 1/2" deep. I am trying to use these as lateral components in a workbench that is easy to make, but can be easily assembled and disassembled (goes inside the house). What tools or methods are best for making this cut(s)? make the cut shown below, in the end of a 2 x 4? This is for lateral components on a workbench inside a house that may need to come apart later. The cut is notching or cutting out the end the of the 2 x 4. What is the best way to do this?

Thanks,

- Phil
    Last edited by Phil3; 03-22-2008, 03:20 PM. Reason: My diagram did not look correct.

Re: How to Make This Cut?

Originally posted by Phil3 View Post
    As a very new novice, I need some help on what is probably an elementary question. What is the best way to cut out a notch in the end of a 2 x 4. That is if looking at the wide side of a 2 x 4, cut out a trough or notch so that if the end of the 2 x 4 was butted up against a flat surface, only the outside edges of the 2 x 4 end would make contact. The notch or cutout is about 2.5" wide and maybe 1/2" deep. I am trying to use these as lateral components in a workbench that is easy to make, but can be easily assembled and disassembled (goes inside the house). What tools or methods are best for making this cut(s)? make the cut shown below, in the end of a 2 x 4? This is for lateral components on a workbench inside a house that may need to come apart later. The cut is notching or cutting out the end the of the 2 x 4. What is the best way to do this?