design for wet/dry vacs?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• design for wet/dry vacs?

Hello, I am a design student from Auburn University. We are currently working with Emerson tool company (the makers of Ridgid wet/dry vacs) in redesigning the vac. I stumbled upon this forum to look for research on what users commonly find wrong with current models. So far the information I have received has been invaluable. Thank you. If you own a Ridgid wet/dry vac and have some free time please list any problems you have with its user functions. Any additional ideas on improving existing wet/dry vacs would also be very welcomed. Either reply on this post or feel free to email me at - carsode@auburn.edu.

[ 01-30-2003, 07:21 PM: Message edited by: design_student ]

I have a RIDGID 16 gal 2-in-1 wet/dry vac I bought 2 years ago, and I've had zero trouble trouble with it. If I had to find something I'd improve, I guess I could say a longer hose, less noise, and a pump that actually pumps with an inlet and outlet hose without needing to empty the bin would be on my list. It's a great vac and will be hard to improve.

Comment

I agree with Rick, even it it's an accessory, a 12 or 15 foot hose would be really nice. Or at least be able to buy the hose by the foot.

I read somewhere on this board the new 6.5 hp 2in1 has a design flaw concerning the mounts for the brushes. If I remember correctly, after about 20 minutes of leaf blowing the plastic brush mounts melted and allowed the brushes to pivot and be ate up by the motor. Also, the motor casing is sold as a complete unit, and not in seperate pieces. Rendering the unit basically as "junk". I have 2 of the 6.25 hp 2in1 Vacs, and the new 6.0 hp vac that has been giving me hours upon hours of flawless service. I also have the 6.5 hp 2in1 in an unopened box and until I hear this was a isolated inncodent, I'm returning it for a full refund.