TS POINTS OF INTEREST

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS POINTS OF INTEREST

I am relatively new to the woodworking hobby and have been looking around at table saws for a while now. I'm wondering if anyone has main items that I should be looking for when I consider the final selection? I notice a lot of differences, such as motor size, weight, fences, etc. etc.

Any recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Hunter----there are a lot of considerations, but all saws pretty much work the same ways. Here's what I consider important.

---Rip fence is probably the biggest feature separating fair saws from excellent saws. The "T-Square" design is one of the best, where the fence is attached only at one rail. This is used by Biesemeyer and it's clones----this is an advantage over the two-point system, which can work very well, but requires a bit more fussing over alignment, depending on the design.

---Cast Iron wings, as opposed to steel, will give you a more solid surface with less vibration.

---Accuracy and ease of alignment are really more important to your safety than is the power of the saw. A well-aligned saw, with a good blade can cut all sorts of hardwoods, with ease---even with as little as 1 to 1 1/2 horsepower. This is found in good milling/finishing of table surfaces and good milling of adjustable features.

There are other features, but these are some I've found to be important. Kelly Mehler's Table Saw Book lists these and a few other features to consider.
    Dave

Comment

Most decent saws have enough precision and power to spin a blade with sufficient power and low runout, so it boils down to features, robustness, fit and finish, distribution philosophy, warranty, and gut feel.