X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Router Bit Question

I am just beginning to get into serious woodworking. I have just purchased a PC router set (plunge and fixed) and wanted some ideas for the most used router bits to begin gathering the bits I need. I already have a Bosch 3/4" roundover, 1/2" Flush trim, and 3/4" mortising bit.

Any suggestions on make or type that will serve me in cutting box joints, some dado cuts, and the best edge finishing bits?

Although I have done a bit of woodworking in the past, I just began the purchase of tools for myself to suport the hobby. I asked the same question to my brother-in-law (who is a champ at all wood/metal working) and wound up answering the question myself. I asked, "Is it a good idea to purchase a set of bits for a good price, not knowing the quality of the bits?" After he commented that he'd used a beading bit for close to a thousand feet of board, I realized, "Just buy a decent set to get a base of bits, and if you wear out any bits, replace them with other (possibly better quality) bits." It seems like a pretty good philosophy and if I decide otherwise, I'll be sure to let everyone know.

Comment

I can only say that a set with multiple bits should be purchased from a quality name such as Frued, Katana, MLCS or CMT. Expect to pay $100 for a 20 to 25 bit set. This will get you the basics.

You will then find the need for more speciality bits such as edge profiles, miter lock, raised panel sets, etc.

The most important thing to do is look at what you plan on making for the next few projects, and what you will need as far as router bits. You may find it better to buy sets such as a full striaght bit set, plywood straight bit set for dadoing. Round over and champer sets. You can get sets with different edge profiles and cabinet sets.

It all depends on what you have planned for projects. My suggestion would be buy the sets as the project calls for them, but buy quality.