X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS2400 Safety

I have recently purchased a TS2400 saw. Its great. It replaced an old (50 yrs +) Sear cast iron saw which finally became too awkward for and old man to handle.

I think there is a small safety issue with this saw. I am right handed and have a hard time turning off after making a pass (as suggested in the handbook) while also hanging on to the miter gauge or workpeice still on the deck.

Anybody else right handed?

Re: TS2400 Safety

You're a retired architect, although engineers are more noted for this, so you should understand that if it's written in the specs it must be able to be accomplished easily.
    Last edited by BadgerDave; 04-14-2008, 05:16 PM.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

I hold on to the miter gauge with my right hand, while using my left hand to hit the switch. But then I am a retired engineer and we are noted for doing things the hard way.
      Dick

Comment

The switch is the worst I have ever seen on a table saw. I have had mine 2 years now and still have trouble finding it.
        Carpenters make the prettiest firewood

Comment

Originally posted by jfacteau View Post
          The switch is the worst I have ever seen on a table saw. I have had mine 2 years now and still have trouble finding it.
          I agree! .....I am thinking of one of these.
          Safety Power Tool Switch

Comment

I've actually been considering doing the same thing (Rockler Switch) with my Ryobi BT3100 which also has the standard switch located under the rails on the right-hand side.

I just hate having to bend over to hit the switch, as it places my face just about level with the table surface.