X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Woodworkers Etiquette & Avoiding Plan Plagiarism

As you may have noted in my last post, I am experimenting with starting a woodworking business, and I have some questions. Her is one of them...

As I am pretty new at this whole thing, I don't really have the skills or knowledge required to come up with my own designs for things. If I tried, I would probably waste a lot of money in lumber and make a lot of crappy work.

Someday, but not yet will I really being doing CUSTOM designs.

So for now, I must resort to finding plans in library books, buying books, buying plans off the internet, etc. Well, when I sell some of these creations at a craft fair in a month, I don't want to come off in any way whatsoever that these items are "designed by me".

So, my question is:

</font>
    • What is proper etiquette for selling creations made from someone elses plans/ideas?</font>
    • What is the best way to properly attribute the people who REALLY came up with the ideas?</font>
    • How far must one go in staying ethical and honest? I mean, is it enough to say simply that I didn't come up with the plan? Or to just NOT claim that it is mine? Or do I need to go as far as listing the original source somehow?</font>
    I am sure there are a lot more ways I could have asked that question. However, I am sure that you guys get the point of where I am going with this.

Basically, I want to be honest, ethical, etc. I want to do the RIGHT thing.

I just want to make sure I know what that is in this area!!!

Thanks for your time.
    Paul Thompson