X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS Alignment Tools

I have a TS3660 tablesaw, and like to keep things accurate (and safe). Are tools such as the TS-Aligner (www.ts-aligner.com) overkill, or...? The basics are in the TS3660 manual, but really, just how good should TS alignment be, and what tools will suffice? The TS-Aligner product is nice, but at over $150 with dial indicator, it is pretty pricey. Is it necessary? I plan to get a Starrett combination square, and have an old dial indicator now. I am a rookie, so have no other wood working tools just yet.

Thanks,

- Phil

Re: TS Alignment Tools

You could get away with using a brass screw and a stick. Just set the stick in the miter slot and use another to make a cross that ends an inch or so from the blade. Thread in a brass (less likely to dull blade teeth) screw so the tooth on the lead edge of the blade just touches the screw then rotate the blade to the back and check the gap to the screw (use the same blade tooth). You could also pick up a set of digital calipers for about $30 that would work just as well and has many other useful applications after setting up the saw

Comment

Hi Phil

I will tell you what is my opinion...I'm not a pro so you can take or leave it but, that's the way that I set my table saw blade and it works fine for me.

All you want is the blade to cut a straight line and not pulling or pushing the wood during the cut so, the blade must be as parallel as it can be - to the miter slot and to the fence.

While adjusting and checking the blade-to-miter slot, you must take into account:
      *"Arbor runout"....than means, that the Arbor is not running (turning) at perfect round (kind of a little bit eccentric) usually because of production inaccuracies.

*"Blade runout"...that means that the blade is not turning on the same plan...kind of wobbling like a wobbling dado blade or in simple words, the blade disk is not perfectly flat.