Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making my own cabinet doors and drawers

Hello Everyone,
    I am new to this forum,and I know I will be in here a lot.I am planning on making new doors and drawers for my cabinets.Right now,they are all MDF,and I want them to be wood.I am not going to replace the boxes,but instead,I plan to cover them completely with some sort of wood vaneer,as close to the chosen wood as possible.Unless,a slight difference would look good,giving the cabinets some unique character.I am planning to sort of go 'out of the norm' in creating my own doors and drawers,sort of like 'one of a kind' cabinets.
    I have some knowledge of wood working,but I am not extremely knowledgable in every aspect of wood working,and I have never made any doors or drawers before.But I don't forsee a problem.
    My questions here are mainly just to get a little direction about some different types of wood,the availability of the woods,costs,and information that will help me with routing,such as a source where I can see some diagrams of routed woods,descibing the bits and general info about them.
    I have seen many bits at Home Depot,but there is not any pamplets or anything showing the different variations of routing bit cuts.
    I am also limited to Pine,Red Oak,and Poplar woods at Home Depot.I am considering using Poplar wood.Are there any bad reasons why I should not use Poplar for my doors and drawers?
    I would like to use Hickory,but I haven't located any as of yet.
    I live in Ga.south of the Atlanta area.Any answers and advice to my questions will be appreciated.