No announcement yet.

buying table saw - what should I buy?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• buying table saw - what should I buy?

I am in the market for a tablesaw and have been impressed with the design several saws that I have seen/read about. The saws under consideration are:

Ridgid TS2400
    Ridgid TS2424
    Roybi BT3100

I am a woodworking hobbiest - though I used to be a general contractor, I don't think I will be returning to that line of work. I plan to use the saw for cabinetry projects around my home and perhaps for friends/family - working on location (occasionally). I don't expect that this saw will not see heavy or regular daily or weekly use (unless my wife comes up with more projects for me). Rigth now the projects on my slate are window seats, book cases and entertainment centers. Pretty basic stuff. Down the road, I might want to build some furniture.

I would like a saw that can handle sheets of 3/4 plywood, hardwood stock up to 2", and that cuts accurately.

Since I have limited space in my basement I will need to move the saw from the basement to the garage/outside.

I like what I have read about the 2424 but given the weight and my need for mobility I think that I must rule that out.

Assuming this is the case, that leaves me with the 2400 and the ryobi bt3100. I have visited the ryobi site and read much about their product - much written by ryobi enthusiasts. I do not intend to fall in love with my table saw (as some ryobi users apparently have) and don't anticipate tricking it out and spending lots of time fawning over it - I just want it to work when needed, I want it to stay accurate and I want it to be easy to handle and store.

I understand that the perspectives received from members of user groups may carry an inherent bias - what I need is some good advice from people that are familiar with the features and functionality of these products - good, bad and ugly.

I appreciate any advice that might be forthcoming.