Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Squaring MS1065LZA

Hi,

I'm a total newbie at this. I'm having trouble squaring my MS1065LZA.

I have assembled it, disassembled it and reassembled it several times. I have adjusted the laser. I am wondering if I made a mistake by following the manual and cutting a cut in the zero clearance throat plate before I attempted to square the MS1065LZA.

The problem is when I lower the blade, the laser tracks considerably from the right to the left. This would indicate that the blade is not square to the table.

How do I fix this? Can I fix this? Should I take it to an authorized service center to have this fixed?

Thank you in advance for all your assistance.

Paul

Re: Squaring MS1065LZA

Welcome to the forum Paul.

I would not use the laser as a method to determine if the blade is square or not. The disk lasers are meant to be a guide not an exact locater of the cut, it will shine in the same spot at the same height all the time but since it is projected from the side of the blade it will never be able to project a beam under the blade (the blade blocks the light path). Set the machine up with a reliable square (preferably a machinists square) and use the laser as a general guide as to where the blade will cut

Comment

Those arbor mounted lasers are a crock... The best they can usually get is within 1/8" of where you'll cut.. only on one side, and as you've noticed it moves as the blade gets closer to the workpiece.

If you want a laser that accurately shows you where a cut is going to actually occur, check out this: www.laserkerf.com