X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Orbital vs Sheet

I am new to woodworking, but enjoy it quite a bit, and I'm slowly building my arsenal of tools (all Ridgid)

Most of the stuff I like working in is basic furniture and custom build millwork (work table etc) and I'm currently working on some wood floors.

I was wondering what is the main difference of a random orbital sander versus a sheet one? Is one more versatile than other? accurate? cleaner?

Most of the sanding is fine sanding when applying a finish

Any help would be much appreciated

Wojtek from Canada

Re: Orbital vs Sheet

I probably use my ROS 99% of the time over my finish sander. The ROS is more aggressive and cuts down on the amount of time it takes to sand. The random orbital action also leaves less swirl marks in the wood than a finish sander will. I personally prefer the finish sander for sanding edges and of course it also gets into corners better than a ROS. You probably should have both but if I had to only have one it would definitely be the ROS.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

Just gotta love the forums. Here I am on Dec 26th 2009 looking for an answer to a question, and low and below on July 28 2008 someone else had the same question.

Thanks for your help and expertise, Badger.

Harold

Comment

I agree with Badger Dave, I too have both and use my ROS most of the time.

But, my 1/4 sheet sander is still and essential tool as the paper is much less exensive and is (at least locally purchased) available in much wider variety, than the die-cut 8-hole, 5" hook & loop compatible discs. And, as BD also mentioned, the rectangle shape of the 1/4-sheet finish sander can also get into corners that the ROS cannot.