X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Table Saw as a Jointer

I am fairly new to woodworking, but thought I had heard of using a table saw as a jointer. Has anyone else heard of the technique. If so, what's the trick.

welll you can do somethings on a tablesaw that you can do on a jointer, such as streight lineing
    you do this by making a jig that clamps the board in position and slides on the fence to get one streight face but if your board is cupped you cant get that out like a jointer. all in all 2 of the more important tools for furniture and cabinet work are a good jointer and a good table saw, Its kinda like using a wrench to drive a nail, it will work ---sorta bill

Comment

Freud makes a blade called the "glue line rip" blade. It creates a surface that can be glued up no problem, as long as you can keep the board steady throughout the cut, which is where good featherboards come in handy.

Comment

yeah the glue line blades work ok if the board is flat and square, if you rip a bowed board on a table saw your gona have 2 bowed boards, some how ya gotta flaten and square the board and that what the jionter is for bill

Comment

what about putting a board on your rip guide, then coming up through the board about half the width of the saw blade so that when you make a pass if only take minor amounts off. I thought a jointer was to make sure you have a square edge. I don't know all it's capabilities I guess. never look at one up close.

Comment

If you try to rip a board that has a curve in it, as it is pressed against the rip fence you will reproduce that curve in cut. You either must remove the that curve on the edge by running it through a joiner or provide a straight edge to press against the fence.