X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DUST COLLECTION AND GROUND WIRE

Just completed installation of the duct work accompanying my Grizzly 2hp dust collector.

Used PCV pipe -- 4 inch -- and it works fine.

I followed the instuctions in various books I read about installing an internal ground wire and also an external for the static electricity.

The good books say to ground each end of your ducts to the equipment and also to the Dust Collector.

Queston is why ground to each piece of equipment? Isn't the one ground wire to the dust collector sufficient to prevent the unlikley event of a dust explosion? My thinking is that if you ran a ground to the equipment and also to the dust collecotr (ultimately to the main circuit box) your just creating redundancy.

Appreciate hearing from the electrical experts on this one.

congrates on the cleaner safer air you are now going to breath [img]smile.gif[/img]
    I am not an expert on dust collectors but I am an electrical engineer - so i can only give you my opinion on what I remember about static electricity. I am sure you have already read enough about LEL and UEL so I won't bother (preach) to you on the potential of explosion. I am sure you have heard a dozen times that PVC is a dielectric and the sparks will occur in your duct work.
    To answer your question though, it is a good idea to keep both ends of the duct work at the same potential energy because a difference could cause sparks within the dielectric tubing.
    I have absolutely no idea what the chances of dust exploding are but I do know that to control static Electricity you will need to wrap bare wire on the inside of your PVC and ground it using alligator clips or the like to both the chassis of the dust collector and the tool you are using.