TP1300LS planner vs. JP0610 Joiner planner

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TP1300LS planner vs. JP0610 Joiner planner

I'm new to woodworking and I am wondering if it is worth buying a planner now while the lifetime warrenty is still good. I already picked up a band saw, table saw, drill press, and miter saw back in December. I plan to build a garage and deck in the new few years as well at a lot of furniture for my house. The big advantage of the TP1300LS that I see this that I can do 12" boards while only 6" boards with the JP0610. I also plan to get one of those hand held biscut joiner in the future too. I assume they make the JP0610 for a good reason. What can I do with it that the TP1300LS can't do?

Oh also forgot to mention that buy a router and making a table for it is in my future plans as well.

Comment

Muckdog, The main use of the JP0610 is for straightening the edges of your boards. It will plane the face but only on narrow boards. A jointer (JP0610) is the only tool I don't have and have had no need for one. I use my tablesaw for straightening the edges and my router for smoothing them out for jointing. You will need to check, but I believe the lifetime warrenty ended Jan. 1 and now it is 3 years. I have had my TP1300 for almost 2 years now and wouldn't think of replacing it with any other brand.
      info for all: http://www.hoistman.com http://www.freeyabb.com/phpbb/index....wwtoolinfoforu --- "I like long walks, especially when they are taken by people who annoy me."

Comment

Originally posted by papadan:
        You will need to check, but I believe the lifetime warrenty ended Jan. 1 and now it is 3 years.
        It ends January 31 [img]smile.gif[/img]

[ 01-16-2004, 09:31 PM: Message edited by: Marcus ]

Comment