X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are you building now?

I'm just starting out a build of a high chair. I've got three red oak boards that will form the high chair, but right now I am mostly messing around with 2x4s from HD to get some of the techniques right. Last weekend I managed to laminate 6 2"x20"1/16" strips together into a relatively pleasing curve. If I get time this weekend, I want to get my form sanded a little bit better so that the curve is more symmetrical, and also have the curve overbent a bit to account for some of the spring back. Also, I didn't use any cork for the first try, and that resulted in a few places where there were gaps. Hopefully, there will be one or two more construction lumber try before I am confident enough to go at it with the real thing.

How about you? Whats your work in progress?

Re: What are you building now?

Oh man.. the list.... Always in the middle of multiple simultaneous projects...

I'm about 60% done with making, from scratch, all new door trim, window casings and aprons, stops, and four sets of jambs for our first floor living room, dining room, and entry way. I'm re-creating the existing Craftsman / Eduardian style (yeah, weird) that is a three piece buildup. Grand total of 55 pieces to install (actually.. that's 3 x 46 molding pieces... and 9 jamb sections) It's all made, from oak, and stained a dark walnut, but the grain is still visible and looks good. 3 coats of poly on each piece and then it goes up. I've got about 75% still left to poly, but otherwise it's all made & stained.
    I wish I could've found QS oak for all of it, but the quantity made it cost prohibitive. As it is, I'm reserving the best grain for the most-visible sections of the living room.