X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• router table extension

I just wanted to post my almost completed router table extension for my TS3650. It's nothing fancy, but I am happy with how it turned out so far. I am planning to make a workstation in the near future (over winter) but I for now I made a temporary leg support to take the pressure off of the fence.

To mount the extension, I bolted a piece of steel angle to the table saw wing. Then I routed a few pockets to accept a 1/4" button head screw and allen wrench. I then used square nuts in the fence rails (on front and one rear) since the table occupies the spot of the factory spreader bar.

Then I added the leg with a support from the table saw brace to the leg to keep it from wanting to spread out.
    The leg is a temporary solution but it is pretty sturdy.

I appreciate any comments, good and bad. I am new to this woodworking thing so there is (obviously) much for me to learn.

Thanks for looking.

t

Re: router table extension

Pretty cool, it looks like that setup will serve you well for a long time.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

Looks nice, is that the rockler plate and miter or t-track? What are you mounting in there?

Comment

Looks good Pneufab. Fancy doesn't matter in the shop (unless you're David Marks!). That extension looks like it'll work very well for a long time. Well done! Do you have any plans for a fence or modification to the Ridgid fence for the router?
        I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment

Thanks for the comments.

Yes, the next project is to make a dedicated fence for the table.

It is the Rockler plate and miter track. I plan on just using the miter slot for feather boards and to guide any sleds or miter gauge I will use in the future. Plus I like how the blue breaks up the black laminate. The router plate is for a Porter Cable 890.