X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS2424 Extensions Not Flush With Top?

I just purchased a TS2424. My first table saw. I am not a pro woodworker. Just your average (well-- above average) do-it-yourself-kinda-guy.

During the setup, I noticed that my extensions seemed to be somewhat bowed (ever so slightly). The top surface of the extensions are perfectly flush with the top surface of the main table top at the front of the main table top. However, at the back of the top, the top surface of the extensions are both about 1/32 inch low compared to the top surface of the main table top.

But both front and rear faces (the surface that the rails mount to) of the extensions are perfectly flush with the front and rear faces of the main table top. You can not even feel the joint between them. I seem to have been able to properly align everything. I didn't even have to use the shims on the rear rail. So I guess that the fact that the extensions are a hair low on the back side isn't a problem.

Is it?
    George

I have the same bow in both cast extensions but the saw works great and it do's not seem to be a problem

Comment

Guys,

That bow is normal and to be expected due to the aging of the cast iron. It is easy enough to fix. As stated in the instructions, tighten the two outer bolts, so that the extension is fluch with the main table at the outer edges, then use a C-clamp to bring the center of the extension level with the main table. Tighten the two center bolts.

Jake

Comment

I too have the TS2412 with the same problem of the extension tables but was wondering if the extension tables for the TS2424 (I think) the cast iron tables) will the fit the 2412 and would it be worth it to replace them with the cast iron ones? Also does Ridgid make a larger table with rip fence? Thanks for any info I can get.
        Randy

Comment