X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High gloss piano finish for a newbee

I'm new to this type of project. So bare with me. I'm building a stand for a fish tank and I want it to have the look of a high gloss black piano. So far I've sanded, used wood filler, sanded more, primed, and painted (brushed on) with the high gloss, oil based, Rustoleum enamel. I'm on my 3rd coat of paint & I sanded between coats of paint. I don't see any brush marks. However, the paint doesn't seem flat/even. I guess wavy is the best way to describe it. Do I have to do something t fix this or will my clear finish hide this. Also, I noticed that there were some micro-bubbles in my third coat. I'm assuming that all I need to do is sand these out? Do I need to sand the final coat of paint before adding the finish? I was thinking of using Minwax Clear Brushing Lacquer for the finish.
    Thanks
    Robert

Re: High gloss piano finish for a newbee

You should have sprayed the paint and sanded between each coat, then probably a couple of clear coats to boot, sprayed also..... What could have happened with your work was, you didn't get the paint to spread out evenly, so it was possibly to thick and needed to be thinned down some...
    Great Link for a Construction Owner/Tradesmen, and just say Garager sent you....

http://www.contractorspub.com

A good climbing rope will last you 3 to 5 years, a bad climbing rope will last you a life time !!!

Comment

I don't have a sprayer nor do I have experience with them. Can this be fixed?

Comment

A number of months ago VA Sandy submitted a thread re piano finish. I don't remember much about the thread except that there were a number of suggestions. A search for the thread may reveal some hints to help with your situation.

-Tom

Comment