X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What dado works well with TS3650

I am new to the woodworking hobbie and my first major tool purchase was the TS3650. I got it at the 20% off HD sale. After much research i just couldn't beat it for the price. I now would like to but a dado for my saw, but i am unsure which to buy. I have read some posts regarding compatability with the TS and now i ahve some question as which one to buy. Any suggestions from you more seasoned woodworkers?

I'm not a seasoned woodworker, but I am using the Freud 208.
    Marcus

Comment

I have a cheap set from HF and anothe Freud set and both work well on my 3650.
      SCWood

Comment

I've also got a HF set and get flat bottoms and straight sided cuts with it. You have to watch out which HF set you buy though, they have a few. The set I have is Harbor Freight Model 44566 and goes on sale pretty regularly for $29.99. An awful lot of people swear by the Freud set that Marcus mentioned, about $75. If you want to spend about half as much as you paid for your saw , look into the Forrest set.
        Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

I use the Freud set Home Depot carries, 8" stack and shims costing around $100, depending on your location. I have not used any Harbor Frieght or Forrest dado stacks. Stay away from the "WOBBLE" dado's! Freud also makes a comperable Dado stack to the Forrest for around $200.

Depending up on the type of wood and amount of dado's your going to make is going to drive your purchase. Being new to woodworking I will assume you will be working with less expensive wood until you refine your skills and feel comfortable cutting into a stick of wood that cost a weeks pay. No use wasting a $200 stack practicing, get a cheaper one, then move up to the expensive one.

I mostly use the router table for dado's these days, unless it's in large sheet good panels. It's just easer and safer IMO.