Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how long to wait for wood to "air out"?

Hi all,

Yesterday I bought a bunch of spruce 8-foot 2x4's and planks to build some rough shelves for my garage. The wood had been sitting out in the open in the lumber yard.

Last time I did this, I put the wood in my garage, waited two days to let the wood "air out" a bit and hopefully get rid of moisture stored up in it, and then built some shelves. Within a month later, the shelves were bending out and warping.

Is there some agreed-upon time that spruce wood should be left to sit before it's used to build something, in order to keep it from warping after a short period of time? I'm relatively new to woodworking.

Thanks!
    Dave

Re: how long to wait for wood to "air out"?

Many time construction grade lumber is dryed to what is called S Dry, or that means the lumber was surfaced when the timber is down to 19%,
    there is still considerable drying to take place yet,
    the two urls have a little info on "S-DRY" lumber, http://www.kentinternational.ca/broc...er_Grading.pdf

http://www.umass.edu/bmatwt/publicat...wood_myth.html

If your air drying lumber the rule of thumb is a year of inch of thickness, for raw green lumber, but at 19% your down considerably, depending on the humidity if inside and depending on location 5% to 12% is about the best one can do,
    (just tested a piece of oak flooring I have here in my office and it was at 6% no finish on it, but has been here for nearly a year).

Spot check the lumber you are using with a moisture meter. It is important to match the MC of the wood you are using with the equilibrium conditions it will see in service. The in-service MC or equilibrium moisture content (EMC), can be benchmarked to relative humidity:

• RH 25% ~ MC 5%

• RH 50% ~ MC 9%

• RH 75% ~ MC 14%

• RH 90% ~ MC 20%

http://www.umass.edu/bmatwt/publicat...wood_myth.html