What's everyone working on?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's everyone working on?

Just wondering what everyone is working on?

I'm a graphic designer and a major do it your selfer who thinks he can make things out of wood too so I decided to build cabinets for my new kitchen addition. Never did any of this before so I decided to build some bookshelves for my kids rooms as a warm up. Over all, the first two units turned out OK. Did dados across 16 inches. The first unit was a nightmare cause my jig (or what every you call it) just did not work. Dados were out of alignment and I had a heck of a time assembling.

Spent 2 months developing a second and then a third jig that got my wide dados down to a science. I impressed myself (an easy thing to do).

Built both units out of oak plywood and used 3/4 oak to do the edges with a plate joiner. I thought this would be easy but am having a hard time getting things lined up the way I want (perfect).

Used oil wall primer to pickle (saw this on Norm's). Left it on about 5 minutes then rubbed in a pecan stain. This really turned out nice. Finished with 3 coats of thinned down (like water) poly. 320 grit between coats.

So, overall, I'm learning a lot from doing and from this forum. Can't wait to tackle the cabinets. After 6 foot tall bookshelves, 36 inch cabinets sound like a vacation.

Best regards,

Henry

Currently building a new bar counter out of Oak. After that its going to be a remodel of a bathroom.

In between I've got a 79 Mustang that is current tore all the way down to the bare unibody.

Jake

Comment

Currently working on an outdoor bar and new BBQ cabinet for deck. Learning a lot about using tile in an outdoor application as both with have tiled tops.