X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tool shopping

I'm looking for a few specific tools. I'm looking for a shop vac, I'm pretty much sold on one of the smaller rigid wet/dry vacs. But I'm also looking for a table saw, and I'm pretty much undecided on that. I'm a novice woodworker in my basement, and I don't have space for a big saw, Skill have one on for $250 cdn with a base, or as one of those bench top deals. Sears have one with the extending top for $180-190 cdn. Though I've seen a few of you guys rip Sears stuff, what should I be looking out for?

I'd probably appreciate one with a router table built in, though I already have one. I find the fence doesn't move far enough away. Although it certainly isn't a must.

Welcome to the forum!

You might want to think through the type of work you're interested in doing and what tools you already have. Mostly, I'm a great believer in buying tools as you need them---also easier on the wallet!

If you are absolutely sure you're only going to do small projects, like foot stools or hanging shelves, etc., a benchtop table saw would probably be fine----however, they are extremely limiting for cutting sheet goods, long rip cuts etc. Aside from lack of cutting capacity, they are generally noisy little direct drive/universal motors, which tend to burn out faster than induction drives found on full-sized saws.

I'd go a Home Depot and look at the Ridgid 3612----it's a fantastic saw which you will likely never outgrow.

If you absolutely must buy a benchtop----figgure you will need to spend at least $300 for a decent one----by all means, avoid Skill, Craftsman, and B&D.
    Dave

Comment

My 2 cents worth...stay as far away from sears as you can. They have my last $ long ago and they rerally do not care about YOU, only your $. If it breake or whatever they do NOT honor the CRAFTSMAN warrenty.....

Comment

Got the shelves up, foot stool is done too