X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tenons on a long board

Howdy all... I'm currently making my kids a bunk bed and I'm at a point that I don't want to screw...so I'd like some input or help...

I have to cute tenons on 4 boards 72" long. I'm fine with short boards and my dado, but I'm not sure how I'm going to cut them on these long boards. Makes me wish I'd bought that Craftsman Radial Arm Saw I saw on craigslist a few weeks ago.

Anyone have a howto? I'm thinking I should use my router because I'm not very good at free handing anything. Thanks again for the help!

Re: Tenons on a long board

what other powertools might you have to work with?

bandsaw or mitersaw maybe?

I can offer a solution if you don't.
    ---------------
    Light is faster than sound. That's why some people seem really bright until you hear them speak.
    ---------------
    “If I had my life to live over again, I'd be a plumber.” - Albert Einstein
    ---------
    "Its a table saw.... Do you know where your fingers are?"
    ---------
    sigpic http://www.helmetstohardhats.com/

Comment

Hey Bob! Glad to see you're up... I have a 14" bandsaw, router, and a 12" miter saw.

Comment

Do you have a circular saw? You could do the cheek cuts with that, after setting the depth carefully. Clean up the tenons with sandpaper. Do the shoulder cuts first with a band saw or jig saw. If using the circular saw for the cheek cuts, start at the end of the board and work towards the middle so the saw is well supported.

You could use a router with a spiral up-cut bit the same way as the circular saw. Just take thinner passes until you're at the right depth.
        I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment

hand saw, back saw, chisel, router,skil type electric saw,
          Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
          ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~